news icon mr-4
Date: 27 Jan, 2015
Source: Barbados Government Information Service

Barbados’ Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade has announced the appointments of Senator K. H. L. “Tony” Marshall as Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the United Nations office in New York and Yvonne Walkes as High Commissioner to Canada.

Senator Marshall will replace Joseph Goddard as Barbados’ Permanent Representative to the United Nations, while Ms. Walkes will be taking up the position previously held by Evelyn Greaves as Barbados’ High Commissioner in Ottawa.

The Ambassador-designate and the High Commissioner-designate are expected to assume their posts in New York and Ottawa on completion of their orientation, which has commenced.

Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, Senator Maxine McClean, has welcomed the appointment of these distinguished Barbadians to the country’s diplomatic corps.

Senator McClean expressed her fullest confidence that the work which would be undertaken by the new envoys will be highly instrumental in vigorously advancing Barbados’ interests in the international community, as well as in significantly enhancing Barbados’ bilateral relationship with Canada, a long standing partner and ally.

Senator Marshall has had long and noteworthy careers as a banker and cricket administrator and has also held many and varied leadership positions across a wide range of endeavours.

He is a Past President of the Barbados Jaycees and the Barbados Cricket Association; and a former Executive Director of the West Indies Cricket Board Inc.; Chairman of the National Insurance Board; and Director of the Barbados Association of Retired Persons.

Ms. Walkes has also had a long and highly-acclaimed career in which she has held leadership positions and obtained specialised qualifications and professional experience in industrial relations.

She has served in the Senate; as President of the National Organisation of Women; as Chairman of the Barbados Accreditation Council; and as a member of the Advisory Council on Gender Affairs.