其他产业 icon 巴巴多斯政府还积极鼓励其他行业的发展

鉴于巴巴多斯的竞争优势,政府在中短期内积极鼓励以下行业的发展:

金融科技

巴巴多斯是加勒比地区区块链blockchain技术的领导者,为第一个区块链开绿灯blockchain 该地区的初创公司-Bitt.com。 这个company 是共同创立的 2014年,两名富有远见的巴巴多斯人继续与其他热衷于接受这项不断发展的技术的加勒比海地区合作。 从那以后,一些投资者接受了加勒比海国家采用数字国家货币的愿景。 巴巴多斯是一个充满活力的全球业务中心,它支持并欢迎国内外投资者采取的这类举措,并已启动了一项监管沙盒,以促进该行业的进一步发展。

医疗旅游

巴巴多斯是一个备受瞩目的成熟旅游目的地,吸引了来自世界各地的游客,尤其是来自英国,美国和加拿大(对医疗服务产生需求的主要国家)的游客,这些国家完全可以充分参与医疗旅游业。 的 根据旅游研究公司traveler Norstat的 2017 年目的地满意度指数(DSI), 当该国成为全球旅客满意度第一目的地时, 该国得到了认可 satisfaction, according to the . 使巴巴多斯吸引医疗旅游服务的其他特征包括:

  • 该国靠近北美和南美
  • 优秀的基础设施
  • 易于国际访问
  • 高医疗保健标准和
  • 熟练的医生

早在1751年,巴巴多斯就以其明显的治愈特性而闻名:清洁的空气,清新的海风和“令人愉悦的阳光”。美国第一任总统乔治·华盛顿(George Washington)为他病重的兄弟在巴巴多斯寻求医疗和康复。

替代/可再生能源

可再生能源是巴巴多斯一个快速发展的部门,具有吸引外国直接投资的巨大潜力。 作为使我们的经济多样化的一种手段,巴巴多斯政府在中短期内积极鼓励该部门的发展。 巴巴多斯是热带 哪个岛 可以利用这些替代能源技术来确保更可持续的能源组合。几家本地公司已在该行业内建立了业务,许多寻求在岛上开展业务的潜在投资者继续表现出浓厚的兴趣。此外,光伏安装和维护方面的高等培训很容易获得,对于该行业的持续发展仍然至关重要。 查看有关可再生能源和能效财政激励措施的可用信息

药用大麻

药用大麻正在迅速成为全球合法的行业。 越来越多的研究表明,药用大麻可用于成功治疗多种疾病。 此外,包括医疗从业者,患者和政府在内的几个利益相关者一直在进行有关药用大麻益处的研究。

2019年11月27日,巴巴多斯政府通过了《 医用大麻产业法》(2019年),并建立了巴巴多斯药用大麻许可证颁发机构。 巴巴多斯药用大麻许可证颁发机构负责颁发许可证,以促进产品的种植,加工和分发。

这个新兴的生产部门为在巴巴多斯寻求参与该州药用大麻产业的本地和国际投资者提供了多种投资机会。

Other Industries icon The government of Barbados is also actively encouraging the development of other industries

Given Barbados’ competitive advantages, the government is actively encouraging the development of the following sectors over the medium to short term: 

Fintech

Barbados is a leader in blockchain technology within the Caribbean, having given the green light to the first blockchain start-up in the region – Bitt.com. This company was co-founded in 2014 by two visionary Barbadians who continue to work with other Caribbean territories that are keen to embrace this evolving technology.  Since then, several investors have embraced the vision for Caribbean nations to adopt digital national currencies. Barbados, a vibrant centre for global business, supports and welcomes these types of initiatives by both domestic and international investors, and has launched a regulatory sandbox to facilitate further growth of the sector.

Medical Tourism

Barbados, a high profile, mature tourism destination which attracts visitors from around the world, but particularly from the UK, USA and Canada, – the leading countries from which the demand for medical services arise – is well positioned to fully engage the medical tourism industry. The country’s prominence was endorsed when it emerged as the number one destination in the world for traveler satisfaction, according to the 2017 Destination Satisfaction Index (DSI), by the tourism research company Norstat. Other characteristics that make Barbados appealing for medical tourism services include: 

  • The country’s proximity to both North and South America
  • Excellent infrastructure
  • Easy international accessibility
  • High medical healthcare standards and
  • Skilled medical practitioners

As far back as 1751, Barbados was recognised for its apparent healing qualities: clean air, refreshing sea breeze and ‘uplifting’ sunshine, when America’s first President, George Washington sought medical treatment and recovery in Barbados for his ill brother.

Alternative/Renewable Energy

Renewable energy is a fast developing sector in Barbados, which has great potential for attracting FDI. As a means of diversifying our economy, the Barbados government is actively encouraging the development of this sector over the medium to short term. Barbados is a tropical island which can capitalise on these alternative energy technologies as a means of securing a more sustainable energy mix. Several local companies have set up operations within the sector and there continues to be keen interest expressed by a number of potential investors seeking to conduct business on the island.  Furthermore, tertiary training in photovoltaic installations and maintenance is readily available and remains critical to the continued development of the sector. See available information on renewable energy and energy efficiency fiscal incentives.

Medicinal Cannabis

Medicinal cannabis is rapidly becoming a legal industry across the globe. There is a growing body of research that indicates that medicinal cannabis can be used to successfully treat a number of ailments. Additionally, several stakeholders, including medical practitioners, patients and governments, have been embracing research on the benefits of medicinal cannabis.

On November 27, 2019, the government of Barbados passed the Medicinal Cannabis Industry Act, 2019 and established the Barbados Medicinal Cannabis License Authority. The Barbados Medicinal Cannabis License Authority is responsible for granting licenses to facilitate the cultivation, processing and dispensing of the product.

This new and productive sector offers several investment opportunities in Barbados for both local and international investors who are seeking to participate in the jurisdiction’s medicinal cannabis industry.